SIMON VS THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA: A Book Review

This is the cutest love story I have ever read.

10015384-_sy540_

Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli wasn’t what I thought it would be and I loved it for it. I thought Simon was going to be a sarcastic little shit, with a quick tongue and a wit found only within John Green novels (the cover did compare Albertalli to Green). What I found was something completely different: I found a reserved, sweet boy who is afraid yet confident, and just trying to sort through his feelings. I found someone who kind of… reminded me of me.

I really loved this book. The characters were all wonderfully unique and sweet, and I found myself even empathizing with the “bad guy.” Everyone was characterized so well! I cannot stress how important this is to me, and how much hard it made me fall for the book. Simon, especially. He was a fully developed character, with contradictions and complicated thoughts and emotions. Simon Spier is probably in my top 10 favourite (and most relatable) protagonists.

One of the most fun parts of this novel is trying to figure out who Blue is. I am proud to say that I figured it out (okay, it really wasn’t that hard, but let me have this). But knowing who it is doesn’t ruin any of the fun of the story. It becomes a delicious dose of dramatic irony, where you want to scream at Simon “he’s right there!” And when Simon finally does figure it out, it’s— beautiful. And the best part? The novel doesn’t end there! There’s still 40 pages to go!

This is one of my favourite love stories. It’s funny and sweet and tastes like melted cotton candy. It warms this cold heart of mine, and maybe even made me giggle and clutch the book to my chest once or twice. Maybe. And maybe it made me squeal “I love this book!” every couple of pages. It might not be the most original story, and it might have its fair dose of cliches, but the book as a whole is simply beautiful.

I am not one for romance, but I am not exaggerating when I say that I love this book.

5 emails out of 5.

Leave a Reply

