SIX OF CROWS: A Book Review

A good ending can make or break an entire book.

sixofcrows

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo is one of those books that I see floating around the Tumblr book sphere. I didn’t know much about it, but my roommate revealed it was her favourite book series so I decided to give it a shot. And now I’m going to share my thoughts with you:

Six of Crows throws you right into the story, and you end up feeling like Mr Krabs.

krabs

It’s not necessarily a bad thing. When you’re writing in a fantasy setting, you have two options: you can throw the reader in without explanation, or you can have your reader follow the protagonist who is also an outsider to this world. It takes some time to orient yourself in Six of Crows, and to figure out what the hell everyone is talking about, but it’s not too hard to make sense of the world. So if you’re confused at first, just keep on swimming.

It took me about 3/4 of the book before I really got into it. I liked it, and I liked the characters, but it wasn’t until we approached the climax that I really held tight to the book and audibly reacted to every twist and reveal. I like the way urgency builds up near the end, and how the stakes keep getting raised higher and higher, but I didn’t really like having to wait so long to get there. But once again, it’s worth it! I swear!

So Six of Crows is more plot-driven than character-driven. This is a bit different from most of the books I choose to read as I prefer character pieces over fast-paced plot. That isn’t to say that the characters aren’t fleshed out. The reason why the middle of the book feels so full is that it’s full of flashbacks and (tragic) backstories. It’s nice to get to hear from most of the characters and to really understand who they are and why they are the way they are but sadly we hear so minimal about the two characters I liked best (thank God for sequels). All the characters are unique and have very different backgrounds and are quite likable. I didn’t dislike anyone, but I did prefer some to others, which is how I think it should be with any ensemble piece.

Last comment: there’s 6 of them…. which means they pair off into couples very easily… which the novel does not try to hide at all. Which I kind of love.

I’m going to start the sequel today, so I will keep you updated. As I said at the beginning of this piece, an ending can make or break a novel, or a series. I have high hopes. Don’t let me down.

I’ll see you on the other side.

4 crows out of 5  

One thought on “SIX OF CROWS: A Book Review

  1. Pingback: CROOKED KINGDOM: A Book Review | N O V E L D E E D S

Leave a Reply

