EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING: A Book Review

Because once they stick that “soon to be a major motion picture” on the cover, you know you have to read it.

18692431

STORY TIME: Once upon a time, I heard of Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon and I stuck it on my “to read” list. Then, I saw a movie trailer for it and I didn’t even finish it before I decided that nope, I was not going to read that, because it looked soft and sweet and like nothing I wanted to read. Plus, it was popular, and for some reason, I am always against what is popular and mainstream (an annoying habit that I need to get over). Then, I was at Chapters and they were having a sale and I needed a 3rd book to get the sale bonus and Everything, Everything was only $10 because of some promotion for it and I was in the mood for a romance and it was on my list after all so… that’s the story of how it ended up in my hands. I was desperate to like it, and, surprisingly, I did.

But just because I liked it, doesn’t mean that I wasn’t disappointed by it.

You probably know the plot, so I’ll give you a quick run down: Madeline is sick with a rare disease that requires her to never leave the house. A boy moves in next store. They fall in love. Madeline risks everything for love. Things happen. Story ends. I shed a tear.

The plot is typical and light. It didn’t blow my mind or change my life, but it was a nice story to sail through. I’m not much for romance, but I found it very sweet and the characters beyond lovable. Not to be that girl but I kind of would like an Olly in my life. Both Olly and Madeline are the type of people that only seem to exist in YA, yet I still somehow managed to find a little bit of them in myself (I’m especially proud of the fact that I have read all of the books Maddy read minus one, and it’s Sartre, so who cares). “Cute” is a great word to describe this book and its characters. It’s cute. They’re cute. We’re all cute here.

The ending is not predictable but it is— unsatisfyingly satisfying. To remain spoiler-free, I’m not going to tell you about it, but I will say that there are only two outcomes a book like this could have, and it’s not the one I wanted. Which is where the aforementioned disappointment comes in. I want to reiterate that I liked it, and I did really like the final chapter, a lot. But this book could have been so much more. It had so many opportunities to be more devastating and more romantic and even more real. I say this a lot about books, and maybe that’s because I’m searching for the answers to life in them. And maybe this book just didn’t want to be that kind of book. Which is fine! It’s still good, and I still liked it, but I’m mourning a bit of a lost opportunity here.

To the people on Twitter who shared the movie trailer, stop saying it’s like The Fault in Our Stars, or it’s better. That’s an insult to both of them. They are two very different books, with two very different feels and purposes. If you like romance, or sick lit, or books that are new and fresh (check out the format: it’s really cool, with short chapters and pictures and emails and diagrams! It’s so pretty), then this is definitely a book you must read.

And do it before the movie ruins everything.

4 emails out of 5. 

2 thoughts on “EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING: A Book Review

  1. I’m feeling the same. Sweet and cute-sy novels aren’t usually my genre. I’m not outright opposed to them, but because of the ones I’ve read follow the same patterns that I don’t expect much from them except disappointment. If anything, the trailer encourages me to try it, because I like the casting of Madeline. Other than that, I’m still not desperate to get my hands on a copy, but if I happened to come across it, I might buy it.

    Like

    • Yeah, the main reason why I was swayed to buy it was because it was on sale, so I completely understand! I did really end up liking it, but I think it’s one of those books you have to be in the mood for. If you give it a shot, let me know what you think!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

